The Aurora Awards

Canadian Science Fiction & Fantasy Association

Announcements & News

Voting for the 2021 Aurora Awards is now CLOSED

Thanks to all those who cast a ballot for this year’s Aurora Awards.  The results will be announced at an online streaming ceremony hosted by Can*Con on Saturday evening, October 15th at 7pm Eastern Time.  Watch this page for full details about where to go to watch it.

Final Notice: Voting Closes This Saturday

Voting for this year’s Aurora Awards will close at 11:59 pm EDT September 4th, 2021 (if you live in BC that would be 8:59 pm, 9:59 pm in Alberta and so on.)  That’s THIS Saturday.

Your vote is important so don’t forget to vote.  You don’t have to vote in all categories or for all works.  So, vote for what you liked and what you know.

If you have trouble accessing your account, please contact us ASAP via the Contact form on our main page. Do not wait until the last moment to cast your ballot.

Aurora Award Voting is Open

This year’s online ballot is now open.  Voting will close at 11:59 pm EDT September 4th, 2021 (if you live in BC that would be 8:59 pm, 9:59 pm in Alberta and so on.)  To access the voting page, you must log into your account to see the link from the ‘Members Only’ page.  Note:  if you have paid for your membership this year and have trouble accessing your account, please contact us ASAP via the Contact form on our website’s main page.  CSFFA memberships are only available to Canadian citizens and Permanent Residents.

We’ve made some significate changes to the voting form.  To vote, just DRAG and DROP the works you wish to vote for in the order you want to rank them.  Move them by clicking on the line with either your mouse or your finger on a touch screen.  Rank only those works in categories that you are familiar with.  To complete your vote, go to the bottom of the form and click the SEND BALLOT button.  Once you click this button your votes will be sent to us and locked.  You will not be able to make any further changes.  If you close the voting form before you click the SEND button your selections will be cancelled, and you will have to start again.

If you have not already downloaded the voters package, do so soon so you can read the works and make informed votes.  The download packages are available until voting closes.

2021 CSFFA AGM Voting is now open

CSFFA members can now vote on this year’s AGM items.  Voting must be done online prior to our virtual Zoom AGM.  Voting will close at 11:59 pm EDT on June 25th.  You must have a 2021 CSFFA membership to vote.

We are doing our annual general meeting within the first six months of our calendar year in compliance with federal government’s requirements.  In the past we had a dispensation that allowed us to hold it later but with better online tools it is easier to hold the AGM online.  It also allows more members to participate.

All AGM documents are accessible once you have logged into your account.  We have provided our 2020 financial statement, actions taken by the board in 2020 and who is running to be on the board.  You can also submit questions to the board.

We encourage all members to participate.

Please note:  This is our annual meeting to discuss the CSFFA society.  This is not a vote for the Aurora Awards.  That will not begin until July 31st.

2021 Aurora Voters Package is available

We are pleased to announce that the 2021 Aurora Awards Voters Package is now available.  Become a part of the excitement and download your package today!   Items in our Voters Package have been kindly provided by the nominees and their publishers.  They are there to help our members make more informed decisions when they vote and are strictly for their personal use.

Voting for this year’s awards opens on July 31, 2021, and will close on September 4, 2021 at 11:59pm EDT. The Voter’s Package will close at the same time and will no longer be available to download. Please be aware that our system gets busy in the last few days and your votes may be locked out if made to close to the deadline.

To download this year’s package or to vote you must be a paid member of CSFFA. Annual memberships are just $10.00 and are open to all Canadian citizens or permanent residents.

The Aurora Awards will be presented virtually by Can-Con on October 16, 2021

Good luck to all the nominees and happy reading to all our CSFFA members.

Aurora Award Interviews

Over the past few weeks, we’ve done a few interviews about this year’s Aurora Awards.

The first was with Ryah Deines from Tyche Books.  Here’s the link to the YouTube video:

The second is an audio interview for the Stuph File Program (#0614)   hosted by Peter Anthony Holder.  We have a link to just my portion of the interview here:  Stuph File interview.  For the full show and other shows go to Stuph File website at  For their newsletter go to:   The Stuph File Newsletter

2021 Aurora Award ballot – updated

We are pleased to announce the 2021 Aurora Awards Ballot.  The ballot is for works and activities done by Canadians in 2020.  Voting will begin on July 31, 2021 and close at 11:59pm EDT on September 4, 2021.  A virtual awards ceremony will be hosted by Can-Con ( on October 16, 2021.

We are currently working to put together our voters’ package.  It will contain most of the written works by our nominees.  It will be available before the end of May.

Click 2021 Ballot to see this year’s ballot.

To either vote or download this year’s voters’ package you must be a paid member of CSFFA.  Annual memberships are just $10 and are open to all Canadian citizens or permanent residents.

NOTE:  The Novelette/Novella category has been changed.  One work was removed because it was published in 2019.
The YA Novel category has been changed.  Dragon Assassin has been replaced with Return to Atlantis.  E-versions of that work had been published in 2019.
Updated on: May 11, 2021

NOTE:  Kelly Robson’s short story has be taken off the ballot because it was not SF, Fantasy, or Horror.
Updated on June 14, 2021

If you don’t already have a CSFFA account click: Create New Account 

Nominations close this Saturday

Don’t miss out!  The Aurora Award nominations close this Saturday, April 24th at 11:59 pm EDT.  Get you submissions in ASAP.

Don’t wait until the last day.  You can submit now and add or change them at any time until we close.

Remember: Nominations for Fan Organizational are part of Fan Related Work (for this year.) We’ve also split the Short Fiction category into two new ones, Best Novelette/Novella (less than 40,000 words) and Best Short Story (less than 7,000).