This evening, August 13, 2022, in a live streaming ceremony we announced the finalists for this year’s Aurora Awards.  For those that missed it you can still watch it on YouTube, 2022 Aurora Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to all those taking home a trophy.  Below is the listing of the finalists. Here is a link to the Aurora Results Grid which contains statistics for this year’s awards.  It included information on who came in, first, second, and third place and the works that were nominated with at least five nominations.

The 2022 Aurora Awards went to:

Best Novel:   Jade Legacy, Fonda Lee, Orbit
Best YA Novel:  Walking in Two Worlds, Wab Kinew, Penguin Teen
Best Novelette/Novella:  The Annual Migration of Clouds, Premee Mohamed, ECW Press
Best Short Story: “The Mathematics of Fairyland”, Phoebe Barton, Lightspeed Magazine, Issue 129
Best Graphic Novel/Comic:  It Never Rains, Kari Maaren, webcomic
Best Poem/Song:  “Cat People Café”, Carolyn Clink, Polar Starlight #3
Best Related Work:  Alias Space and Other Stories, Kelly Robson, Subterranean Press
Best Visual Presentation:   Dune (2021), directed by Denis Villeneuve, Legendary Entertainment
Best Artist:  Samantha M. Beiko
Best Fan Writing and Publication: Polar Borealis, Issues #17 to #20, edited by R. Graeme Cameron
Best Fan Organizational:  When Words Collide, Randy McCharles, chair, online festival
Best Fan Related Work:  Broadcasts from the Wasteland, Brandon Crilly and Evan May, Podcast