Press Release for the 2019 Aurora Awards

For Immediate Release

The 2019 Aurora Awards were given out at a ceremony held in Ottawa, Ontario at Can-Con 2019 on Saturday, October 19, 2019.  Kate Heartfield’s novel Armed in Her Fashion from ChiZine Publications won for Best Novel.  Ryan Reynolds won his first Aurora for his acting, writing and producing roles for Deadpool 2.

Fonda Lee won her second Young Adult Novel Aurora for, Cross Fire, the second volume in her Exo series.  Kelly Robson won the Best Short Fiction award for her story, Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach which was published by

The Graphic Novel award went to Kari Maaren for her the webcomic, It Never Rains.  Editors Dominik Parisien and Elsa Sjunneson-Henry won Best Related Work for, Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction from Uncanny Magazine.  Best Artist went to Samantha M. Beiko for cover art for Laksa Media.

Aurora awards have been given out for Canadian literary and fan works that members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA) feel are exceptional.  A total of eleven awards were given out.

For a more details about CSFFA, the Auroras or this year’s nominees, please go to our website at:  CSFFA memberships are open to all Canadians citizens and permanent residents.

The following is the complete list of winners:

  • Best Novel:  Armed in Her Fashion by Kate Heartfield, ChiZine Publications
  • Best YA Novel: Cross Fire: An Exo Novel by Fonda Lee, Scholastic Press
  • Best Short Fiction: “Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach” by Kelly Robson, Publications
  • Best Graphic Novel: It Never Rains by Kari Maaren, Webcomic
  • Best Poem/Song: Ursula Le Guin in the Underworld by Sarah Tolmie, On Spec issue 107 vol 28.4
  • Best Related Work: Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction edited by Dominik Parisien and Elsa Sjunneson-Henry, Uncanny Magazine
  • Best Visual Presentation: Deadpool 2, written and produced by Ryan Reynolds, Twentieth Century Fox
  • Best Artist: Samantha M. Beiko, covers for Laksa Media
  • Best Fan Writing and Publication: She Wrote It But…Revisiting Joanna Russ’ “How to Suppress Women’s Writing” 35 Years Later, Krista D. Ball
  • Best Fan Organizational: Derek Künsken and Marie Bilodeau, co-chairs, Can*Con, Ottawa
  • Best Fan Related Work: Edward Willett, The Worldshapers (Podcast)

If you have any questions, please contact us!

Clifford Samuels
Aurora Awards administrator